Oh, the Places You Will Go | Toronto pt. II Getting Around

One of the best parts of the trip to Toronto with Shorty Do-Op, as is the case with most, were the familiar experiences highlighted by your unique circumstances.

Take, for example, we took public transportation just about everywhere we went. That’s often the case when you travel, right? But you know as well as I do that taking the train in New York is nothing like a train ride in Chicago. Catching a cab anywhere in Mississippi is not like hailing one in Madrid. Familiar experiences, unique circumstances. You get the idea.

The photographs below are all homages to the brief love affair I had with the public transit system in the city. Something about it all just felt right. Each shot is (from top to bottom) the stop at the airport where we caught the shuttle back to the hotel every night, the city bus that took us there, and the train that took us to the bus. (On my last night there, I was asked out on a date right near that 22!)

photo-2

IMG_0499.JPG

IMG_0497.JPG

Our last night in Toronto, we visited a bakery called Bakerbots Baking. Oh. Em. Gee.

Let me tell you something. I’m not usually one for waiting in line for anything, especially food. In fact, I was just telling a couple of the young women I work with this the other day. They thought I was weird, and you probably will, too.

Standing in line suggests, for me, deficiency. It announces “I’m standing in line to get something I don’t have! Not only do you have what I want/need, that also means you have the power.” I’d rather just do without. This complex was also fed when I worked for years covering big events and parties thrown by self-important people. Because I was there to cover the shindigs, I never waited in line, I just walked in.

I say that to say, when Shorty and I exited the train station at the Ossington stop to try out Bakerbots, I was not happy when I saw the line that was about a block long. Ugh! We stood in line about 30 minutes before we could even step foot inside this quaint bakery. It was worth every second we waited. Instead of sitting outside on benches and the sidewalk to eat our treats as the other patrons did, we waited until we got back to the hotel. Smart move. One of the few things I dislike more than standing in a line is having a foodgasm in public.

~ by MsInklination on August 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
