“Ghost of Daddy’s Passing”

This originally ran on Gawker Father’s Day Weekend last year. I just realized how long its been since I’ve blogged.

Though I was excited to have something published on Gawker, I was a little less excited that they chose to run it on Father’s Day. There’s something distastefully stereotypical to me about seeing something about a strained (at best) black father/daughter relationship on Father’s Day. That holiday is about celebrating fathers and men who love, not an advertisement about how bad things can be, no matter if that’s the truth or not.

Alas, my bittersweet debut is here.

One more thing: When I worked as a journalist, I made it a habit never to read what I’d written after it was posted online because 1) There was little I could do about it after it was in the universe for criticism or praise. Both can give one a false sense of reality and self if digested as truth. People sure can be mean when making comments. 2) People in comment sections can be so freaking mean. Geez!

~ by MsInklination on August 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
