On Place, Part I

Last week I went to hear U.S. Poet Laureate and Mississippi Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey do a reading at Jackson State University. I’d debated about rather or not I’d go and am immensely grateful that I did. Before reading one of her works, Trethewey read this Flannery O’Connor quote:

“Where you come from is gone; where you thought you were going was never there; and where you are is no good, unless you can get away from it. Where is there a place for you to be? No place … Nothing outside you can give you any place … In yourself right now is all the place you’ve got.” —Flannery O’Connor

It resonated with me; I’ve pondered it often since.

~ by MsInklination on September 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
