To “Fight for Love” or Walk Away?

Someone asked me today if I thought there was a difference between someone who fights for their relationship versus someone who doesn’t know how to quit. I most certainly do: a discerning spirit. But before that answer came to mind, a Foreign Exchange song did. It’s also the song that came to mind when I recently got an unexpected phone call from a Love I stopped fighting for before I even realized I’d long since put down my armor and walked away. Sometimes liberty looks like proverbial footprints in the sand. And sometimes love looks like freeing the other of your expectations for reciprocated love.

(there’s no actual video, just the song and lyrics)

All this time I had it wrong,
But now I truly see
The road you’re choosing
See, the writings on the wall
Tells me I’m losing you
And there’s nothing for me to do
Cause our greatest fears came true
I finally got a clearer view 

I don’t wanna be a soldier anymore
Because the war never ends
And no one ever wins
I don’t understand why we should fight for love
Either it ain’t or it is
It either ain’t or it is

I guess that I am not as strong 
As I pretend to be
It’s so confusing
And if I thought you would change tomorrow 
I still would be choosing to 
Run away and just start brand new
The lucky ones they are so few
Then I guess they are unlike me and you
Me and you

No, I cannot believe 
That I won’t ever love again!

~ by MsInklination on September 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
