Responses, Responses, Responses

This is all the things I thought to say but was too irritated to articulate when I read then posted Gene Marks’ “If I Were a Poor Black Kid.” Thanks, Mr. Thurston.

There are jewels like this in Baratunde Thurston’s response on CNN.com:

I am a poor black kid. I don’t have great parental or educational resources. I’m not as smart as your kids. These are facts. In 2011.

The one smart thing I do everyday is read Forbes. It’s what all us poor black kids do. Forbes is constantly reporting on issues of relevance to me and my community. This week, I found your article “If I Were A Poor Black Kid” printed out and slid under my door like all Forbes articles.

Thank you Mr. Marks. You have changed everything about my life. Thanks to your article, I worked to make sure I got the best grades, made reading my number one priority and created better paths for myself. If only someone had suggested this earlier.

And this:

With that one article, you solved the problems of millions. Imagine the good you could do with three or four articles! Please don’t stop with poor black kids! What about children trapped in sex trafficking? How about undocumented migrant workers? And of course, there’s women. Have you ever wondered why there aren’t more women CEOs? I’m sure you have. You’ve thought about everything and figured everything out. You are a great man. Thanks again for teaching me about technology.

Further proving that Marks doesn’t get it. He responded to the response about his column, like all journalists worth their salt do. Read that here.

~ by MsInklination on December 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
