West Says, “Race Matters,” Pt. II

I tried to post this–no lie–seven times. There’s a conspiracy. Seriously. Hmmm … These words go with the picture posted below it.

Monday, I spent the entire day in a racial diversity workshop with Al Vivian, civil rights icon C.T. Vivian’s son. We met, ironically, on the Ross Barnett Reservoir. Anyway, I can’t say much about the workshop here because … well … I just can’t. But I was too amused this morning when I was driving to work and saw this on the back of a truck on one of the most stereotypically black, economically depressed city blocks in the Jackson metro area.

I don’t know exactly what else any of this says, but I do know despite it’s being a social construct, race matters.

~ by MsInklination on November 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
