“Fly”

There are innumerable issues I have with Nicki Minaj and Rihanna. Until this past weekend, I’d never even heard a Nicki Minaj song in its entirety (on purpose) and was proud to report that whenever people would talk about the Barbie’s rap skills. And the last Rihanna song I heard in its entirety was “Umbrella.” Yes, “Umbrella.”

I spent this weekend with a few young women from work. These young ‘uns are something else. I’m genuinely honored to know them. I feel more alive when I’m with them and, sometimes, my heart aches tremendously when I hear the stories they tell about their lives.

These young women also have interesting taste in music. (If I were being honest, I’d say they have no taste, but I’m trying to be diplomatic.) I let them control the radio while we were together, and they mostly flipped between satellite stations The Heat and Heart & Soul. Every now and then, I made them listen to old-school rap on Backspin, but it was mostly their show. That’s how I ended up listening to “Fly.” More than once. When I stopped being a cantankerous “old lady” and listened to the lyrics of the song, I realized it wasn’t bad at all.

For those of you who’ve been avoiding Nicki Minaj and Rihanna lately, let me assure you, this won’t hurt at all.

~ by MsInklination on October 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
