Pssst! Your Diffidence is Showing

This is an actual conversation I engaged in, against my will, with two adult women. Because it’s embarrassing, and I’m gracious, I’ve used fake names for the other two parties.

Samantha: MsInklination, do you like me?

MsInklination: Uhhh …

Samantha: I mean, you talk to Erica all the time, and you never talk to me.

MsInklination: Well, I know Erica better than I know you, so …

Samantha: What do you want to know about me? I wear a size 5 shoe; I’m—

MsInklination: I didn’t say I knew facts about Erica. I said I know about her. We talk
about our lives with one another.

Samantha: So do you know she’s a secret agent?

MsInklination: No, I didn’t. Did she tell you she was a secret agent? If she did, that means she’s not a very good one.

Samantha: She didn’t tell me, but I figured it out.

MsInklination: And now you’re telling me?

Samantha: Yep!

MsInklination: I’m pretty sure Erica doesn’t appreciate you telling me that she’s a secret agent, and now because you told me, I know I can’t trust so you, so I probably really won’t talk to you now.

What was MsInklination to do? What adult asks another, in all seriousness, “Do you like me?” And if we’re reverting to middle school tactics to gather this information, aren’t we supposed to write notes, not ask?

Isn’t it interesting how our insecurities expose themselves to others, even in our adult years? I wonder what I walk around exposing to people about myself.

But in the mean time, there’s a lesson learned: Avoid answering when someone asks an awkward question, no matter what it is. And when possible, respond with, “Can you put that in a note and slip it to me?”

~ by MsInklination on September 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
