The Way I See It

Everything, but everything, is about perspective. We all know this, but I was reminded of it during a simple, superficial exchange not long ago.

I was shoe shopping (This will cease August 1 for a while; I have an aggressive savings goal for the last four months of the year, and it will not be accomplished buying shoes, dresses and bags.) recently and reached the point in my shopping venture when it was time to narrow down the nine pairs of shoes (I say this shamefully, mind you) I gave pieces of my heart to. “I’m only going to buy three,” I tell myself. A friend of mine whose taste, among other things, varies greatly from mine offered her opinion.

One of the pairs of shoes I was confident I’d be purchasing was the Charles Jourdan Andes platform pump. Upon seeing the pair of pumps in the I’m-not-leaving-the-store-without-these pile, she says, “I would never pay that much money for that shoe. It’s so … so … plain.” I countered, “No, it’s ‘classic. And if taken care of can be worn for seasons to come.” She grunted, and I thought in horror, reflecting on the moment that had just passed, “She said plain!”

Charles Jourdan, Andes platform pump

Something happened recently that gave me pause. The only thing I could think to do was pray. “Lord, is this an obstacle or an answer to a prayer?” I still don’t have an answer to that prayer. With even the messy little life situation, I can see how it could be an admonishment to persevere with patience, and if I looked from another angle, it could be the red flag I’ve been looking for. But of this I am certain: Everything, but everything, is a matter of perspective.

~ by MsInklination on July 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
