Street Fashion

I will make fun of someone’s bad outfit in a minute (in my head). … Well, let me fix that: I will rework someone’s bad outfit in a minute (in my head). “If she’d worn a neutral platform peep-toe pump instead of those black Mary Janes, put a belt on top of that top to cinch the waist, rolled that skirt up an inch and grabbed a clutch on her way out of the house instead of that fannypack, she would look adorable!”

We all have a little judgement in ourselves like that, about one thing or another, and one of my things is fashion. (At least that’s what I tell myself. It helps me feel better.) There is little excuse, however, I can find for an egregious comment a local, self-proclaimed socialite made about a homeless man’s fashion today online. I could use her name because she did when she posted the comment, but since old folks say God takes care of babies and fools, I figure I’ll help him take care of the culturally insensitive, too.

Here’s what she said:

“I admire Camo Jumpsuit Homeless Guy’s resolve. This weather makes me want to wear as little as possible outside, but he’s fully committed to his signature look.”

There are a motley of mean things I could say in response, but I won’t. Some things are better left unsaid, when they’d be coming out of my mouth, at least. I wish more people knew when to keep their mouths shut.

Homeless man Sleeping with His Bible


Image via Travel Blissful

~ by MsInklination on May 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
