Seeking Irrelevance

I would explain my long absence, but I don’t have the energy to do so. Recanting all the things that have kept me too busy and, subsequently, tired to blog would only cause me to grow more weary, and I have too much going on to be even more tired than I am. But I will say this:

Today, I had the opportunity to sit with James Meredith. The James Meredith who integrated the University of Mississippi, was shot by white supremacists when he led a march to encourage people of color to vote in the mid ’60s and supported Jesse Helms’–yes, Jesse Helms’–bid for presidency. The man is complex; the entire scenario was intense; I was humbled; I am still processing it all. I’ll be journaling about my experience, and I may or may not share that here, but I will post a few of the profound quotables from my time with him.

* “The problem can only be solved by the people who suffer the most from it.”
* “Some of my enemies ain’t gone ever understand me, and that’s a good thing, I think.”
* “I know a few tricks. Most people don’t understand that Moses was a magician himself.”
* “I’ve been offered the opportunity by both parties–black and white–to be the ‘biggest black in America.’ I turned them both down because it came at a cost. … For the last 30 years, I’ve been trying to make myself more irrelevant; I’m not who they think I am, whatever they think I am.”

~ by MsInklination on December 8, 2010.

One Response to “Seeking Irrelevance”

  1. Wow! What an honor! I’m honored to know someone who talked with THE James Meredith! As I read this I thought of the interesting book you got for graduation from one of your aunts titled “Oh the Places You’ll Go” you’re definitely going places! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
