On Fashion Godesses Protecting Their Daughters

It’s never happened to me before. And, believe it or not, I’d never thought of what I’d do if it did. Screw me for not planning ahead. It happened. I sat, at church, next to one of my favorite tenor singers ever, and a woman walked in wearing the tea-length, blush-colored silk duponi dress with ruffled neckage and subtle box pleating at the waist I had on.

“She has on my dress,” I whispered.

“Uh oh,” Tenor said through his chuckle. “Which one of y’all is going home to change?”

“I’m tempted to,” I said, as I shifted uncomfortably in my seat.

The distress on my face was painfully obvious, I assume because after a brief moment, Tenor offered: “I mean, it’s the same dress, but y’all don’t look the same in it. You’ve got that black thing on,” he said, referencing my signature cardigan in black. “I don’t think anyone would notice right off.”

“Yeah, and I’m wearing a different belt,” I justified, fondling the rhinestones on the buckle of my black belt. The dress came with a blush-colored sash, but there was something about it that just seemed weird when I bought the dress. Now I know why. It was my fashion goddess’ way of protecting me.

Tenor looked back and forth between my frocked kindred and me.

“What kind of shoes does she have on?” I asked, hoping this would be my final vindication for the unintentional Twin Day they have during homecoming week at high schools across the nation.

“Some off-white, cream looking shoes.”

“I’ve got her then,” confident my fuchsia-colored animal print Betsey Johnson peep toes would smash her nice but conservative Nine West pumps in a shoe battle.

I shook my head, bummed that we were wearing the same dress but pleased my styling choices put enough space between the next girl and me.

“Great minds think alike,” she said, smiling, as she got up and walked past me.

Tenor chuckled, and I said, “Yep!” knowing the truth: Great minds style their off-the-rack clothes.

~ by MsInklination on July 12, 2010.

One Response to “On Fashion Godesses Protecting Their Daughters”

  1. That is too funny.

Leave a Reply

 
