This Dress is Not a Fairytale

When I read that the Kardashain sisters were presenting a line upon which they’d collaborated with the label bebe at New York Fashion Week not long ago, I didn’t think much of it. The sisters wear clothes I don’t like, but they also wear pieces sometimes that make me say aloud, “Now that’s cute.” That’s the way it works with most people and their fashion choices, isn’t it?

Later when I read what Tim Gunn, a fashionista’s god, had to say about the line, I chuckled. I could hear the words, enunciated and vigilantly venerated from Gunn’s lips, as I read them, and thought “Uh oh …” about the sisters’ success.

I just think the Kardashians have an absence of taste and I don’t think that that should be perpetuated. I’m sorry I’m sounding like an old farty snob but it bothers me.

But who knows? People with no taste often flock to labels just because of whose name is on them so maybe they have a chance. That’s what I thought until I saw this picture of Fantasia wearing a piece from the line’s Spring collection. This looks like the dress she would have worn to the prom in her Lifetime biopic “Life is Not a Fairytale.”

It’s not the Kardashian’s fault the dress is too small, but it is their fault the liquid leggings look has made its way to dresses. This, my friends, is an epic fail. I vote no.

Fantasia performing at the Jackie Robinson Foundation's scholarship benefit

… but her hair is cute.

~ by MsInklination on March 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
