Don’t You Nair That! (Though I Would)

Mo'Nique

As most people in black America know, Mo’Nique doesn’t shave her legs. I don’t dig the look, personally, but that’s me. The thing I don’t understand, though, is how other people’s lives can be so empty that sit and have debates on blogs and such about whether or not it’s OK for Mo’Nique to go grizzly-legged. I mean, yeah, I waste time talking about things that won’t make the world a better place with my friends, too, but dude. Come on. Seriously.

Anyway, I came across these comments while I was blog surfing and something about them just stood out to me. The former because I’m still trying to figure out how adapting a standard of beauty and losing weight for health purposes is parallel. The latter, of course, because it’s been soaked in sarcasm, and I’m a student of sarcasm.

why do caribbean coon women hate their own men
OnJan 10, 2010 at 4:39 pm
I’m not sure who determines what is socially acceptable, but women having lots of hair under heir (sic) arm pits, on their legs/body just is not acceptable in america. It took Mo a long time to understand that she needs to lose weight, I hope it doesn’t take her just as long to decide to shave. She’s a major star now and coming under more scrutiny. I’m surprised white women like Joan Rivers aren’t ridiculing her already.

And …

ann
OnJan 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm
What the Hell is Mo’Noque thinking by not conforming to the evolving and the strict rules on female beauty???
Shame on her for heading a national comedy tour, co-starring on a successful show, being nominated for an Oscar, and hosting a radio show, and now having a successful late night show, and yet having the audacity to not shave her legs.
What the Hell is wrong with her? She might as well let her hair go natural.
Doesn’t she know all of her accomplishments go to sh!+ if she doesn’t look a certain way??

~ by MsInklination on January 11, 2010.

One Response to “Don’t You Nair That! (Though I Would)”

  1. PLEASE tell me that “ann” person was being facetious. LOL. I really hope so.

    Like the grizzy, sometimes I let my hair removal strategies hibernate for the winter. I’ve gone grizzy-leg plenty of times though never to a formal event unless my legs weren’t showing.

Leave a Reply

 
