Dickens’ Dickens

Last night, I saw something I’ve never seen before in my entire turning-30-in-a-couple-days years of living: a black Ebenzer Scrooge.

A friend and I went to see “A Christmas Carol” at New Stage Theatre, a local production house. The poster was not much different than anything you’d expect to see–an odious-faced white man with a top hat resting pertly on his head, wire-rimmed glasses and an intimidatingly stately nose. (Scrooge always has an un-ignorable nose.) That’s the way it’s always been.

Imagine my surprise when mention of Scrooge was made and into the fictional Scrooge and Marley firm stepped a black Scrooge, grimacing “Bahumbug!” When I saw the actor’s tawny brown skinned, I leaned over to whisper to my friend, but a shout loud enough for Charles Dickens himself to hear came out, “Scrogge is black!” Not only was Scrooge black, but there were several other prominent black and racially ambivalent characters.

Wonder if Dickens would be pleased to see a diverse cast bringing his artistry to life or if his bones are rattling and spirit railing in his grave. I would have provided you with photographic evidence, but I couldn’t, of course. So I’ll give you this pictorial instead, if you’re in the market for an Andrew Martin sofa. I quite like it, actually.

Andrew Martin Dickens sofa, £2,604.35

~ by MsInklination on December 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
