Critical Thinking: A Precious Commodity

Last week, one of my besties (Shorty Do-Op) and I saw “Precious.” (We had to wait until then considering we don’t live in a city that’s ever on the “limited release” list.) The movie is intense, but it couldn’t be anything else, considering the subject matter. Monique, whom I’m mostly indifferent about (when she does all of that yelling for no apparent reason; in those moments, I do not like her), plays the role of Mary Jones with every fiber of her being, every millimeter of her, down to her toenails. She was a monster with humanity. Sporadically, director Lee Daniels also included in the film scenes of escape, where the protagonist, Precious, daydreams about a life that looks a lot different than her own. Escapism. We all need that. And Sapphire’s “Push” doesn’t offer the reader many opportunities to do it. But this isn’t about the film itself. It’s about the people with whom I shared the theater while watching the film.

Immediately, as the camera showed us Clarice Precious Jones (Gabourey Sidibe), one of the women in the small group sitting behind Shorty Do-Op and me proclaimed with disgust, “She BIG!” In that moment, I figured things weren’t going to go well. I was right.

Throughout the film, these women not only made objectively inappropriate comments but they laughed uncontrollably at parts of the flick that, no matter your sense of humor, were simply not funny. Mind you, I’m aware that some people, when faced with uncomfortable, awkward situations chuckle and smile to ease the tension. These, however, were guffaws. At some point, I leaned over to Shorty and told her some movies should require audience members have a certain score on IQ (emotional and intellectual aptitude) tests before entering. This is elitist, and I, for the most part, do not care. I know everyone isn’t the same. We all have things we appreciate and don’t. Our personal prerogatives afford us that opportunity. Aesthetics is individualism, so it’s exclusivist, imposing and slightly judgmental of me to believe everyone should laud, detest or be indifferent about the things I am. I get that. But still, I want so much more for us than to be robotic, intellectually non-threatening individuals who perpetuate the negativities about us our enemies believe. That’s exactly what the social and psychological degenerates with whom bestie and I shared the theater did. Yeah, yeah. I know that was supremely elitist, but since standards are on my brain and the proverbial table today, I think it’s time we (re)establish some. What happened to us? When did we become desensitized to humanity? When were we only looking to be entertained instead of superficially inspired? Just asking.

~ by MsInklination on November 30, 2009.

One Response to “Critical Thinking: A Precious Commodity”

  1. Wow! How annoying to pay $9 for a movie and then to have rude interruptions on top of that. Shameful! We have to do better.

Leave a Reply

 
