hoping

(I’ve been on this poetry kick lately. Don’t know why.)

alvinailey3

photo by Andrew Eccles

hoping

i want
to write
a poem
about you
but it seems
i don’t
have the
proper tools
cellists drag bows
painters make strokes
ballerinas pirouette
comediennes tell jokes
but i
am who
i am
and don’t
have such
gifts so
i attempted
to write
a poem
for you
i hope
this will do

~ by MsInklination on November 18, 2009.

6 Responses to “hoping”

  1. very nice.
    I like how it builds up then goes back down like a wave on the beach.

  2. This is great! You’re quite the poet girl. And the photo is so hot. I love Andrew Eccles’ photography.

    If you ever to a poetry set “Love Jones” style YouTube it for me watch. Your style and speaking voice with this poetry would be an excellent match.

    • I like the photo too, but I wish the “page” was bare to emphasize the simple beauty of the poem.

      • I considered a plain page, Ash, but I wondered if it would make the page too plain. I thought people needed pictures?!

    • I recorded a couple poems on a podcast for my former employer. Maybe I’ll try to find a way to post those. One poem, in fact, is about a guy who … yeah … let me try to find a way to post that!

  3. (The following feature has been borrowed from facebook)

    * Ashleigh Braggs likes this * *thumbs up*

Leave a Reply

 
