Friday Finds

The holidays are coming up. That means you have to buy gifts. Well, I supposed you don’t have to, but unless you’re a scrooge, you’re probably going to want to buy a gift or two. Neckties and cutesy named lotions and potions from Bath & Body Works won’t do this year. They simply won’t do. That being the case, I’ve decided to dedicate the Friday Finds until Christmas-shopping time has ended to gift ideas. I’ll give it you, some of the things I’ll find will undoubtedly be beyond the price point you were looking for (admittedly, most of them will be beyond mine). But this isn’t about the gifts themselves but about generating ideas, because I swear (and I rarely do that–I can count the number of times in my life I’ve done it on one hand for real) if I get another basket with cucumber melon-scented body wash and hand lotion, I’m going to cry when I open the package and say, “I’m sorry. I can’t help it. This disgusting scent gives me a case of the sads.”

All of the pieces featured this week can be found at Uncommon Goods and are, for the most part, reasonably priced.

This Kapow! lamp is quirky enough to add character to a room, with its mesh loops and slender base, and practical enough to … provide light! (I wouldn’t mind having it in my dining room, in fact.) $150.

17322_lg17322_det

Wallets do sometimes make the Christmas shopping list, but I doubt you’ve ever bought a wallet quite like this one. The aluminum comes in a myriad of colors and is not only fun but perfect for those who are a little rough and tumble. $49.

16746_lg16746_det

This cosmetic pouch is made from recycled you-should-read-it-everyday New York Times, can be opened and closed with the heavy-duty zipper and is covered in water-resistant laminate for easy clean up. If you’d like, the bag can also be carried as a clutch. $30.

17367_lg

~ by MsInklination on November 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
