It’s Just Hair

I’m tired of hearing people talk about hair. Good hair. Bad hair. I don’t care. If it’s a conversation about hair, It’s my goal from now on to ignore it. Primarily, because I’m tired of hearing about it (I think I’ve driven that point home already, eh?). Secondly, most of the people who talk about hair these days are idiots. That wasn’t nice. Let me find another way to say that. Most of the people I hear talking about hair lately, especially considering Chris Rock’s “Good Hair,” have … (watching ABC’s “Modern Family” now and thinking of a way to re-articulate) … nothing to say. They just yap and talk as if hair is more than the equivalent of fingernails on your head.

I’ve worn my hair natural for the past five years. This, actually, is my second time going natural. The first time, I stayed off the creamy crack for three years and had a relapse when I graduated college as a “gift” to my mom. (Read I’m Natural and it Means Nothing, if you’re so inclined.)

The second time I cut my hair all off, the decision was a little less impulsive and mostly economic. I got tired of spending money to get my hair done every other week. (If you’re going to get it done, you have to do it right.) I wish I could say at the time I wanted to feel blacker–more connected to my heritage. That sounds better. It’s more self-empowering. But not true. As days made weeks and weeks made months, however, my kinky curly hair was my personal statement for the time. And then it seemed that practically everyone started going natural or locing their hair up.

So now, I’m considering reversing my natural and indulging in the chemicals again. Actually, I’m always thinking about something new I can do to my hair. I have hair ADD. (In my recent five-year stint as a natural girl, I’ve shaved all my hair off three times.)

I’ve never had much of an attachment to hair, as you may be figuring out. It’s always been an accessory that said more about my mood for the day than suggesting my political or cultural views. You can wear locs and be mentally bound or wear a lakefront wig and be socially attuned.

That being said, the ignorants who’re making claims like Rock’s recent film is “airing our dirty laundry” and the worst yet ,”giving white women a heads up on us” is just confusing. When did hair become so significant? I know people, especially Pentecostals, take care to point out the fact that scripture says a woman’s hair is her glory. But in my estimation, you can maintain your glory by keeping your hair clean and combed. (I don’t believe, however, that growing it past your waist and having split ends up to your shoulder in that Pentecostal manner is particularly gloriful … no, that’s not a real word … but that’s just me judging.) I don’t want to take away from the fact that a woman’s hair is her glory, but I do want to take this time to point out the fact that it’s just hair, and I’m tired of talking/hearing about it, so I will disengage from hair stories for at least the next month until someone says something so idiotic I can’t help but comment.

~ by MsInklination on November 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “It’s Just Hair”

  1. I actually came here to find your blog about facinators so I can jazz up my hair then I saw your new posts. Yea!!!

    About hair:

    I used to be more militant about hair but now I totally agree with your sentiments.

    It’s just hair.

    One time you asked me if I’d be mad if you permed your hair and I said “yes”. But now, I’m like “Go for it!” Just send me the pics of your new style. 🙂

    If it’s healthy and you’re happy clap your hands. *clap clap*

    If you’re bald and you know it and you’re not afraid to show it. Press it. Perm it. Braid it. Grow it. It’s your head.

    It’s yo head. Do whatchuwanna do. I can’t tell ya who to sock it to.

    Alright. I think you’re endured enough of my randomness … let me get back to “work.” *continues to look for fascinators*

    • Ha ha! I got you, didn’t I?! I’m finally starting to get back on track personally, so that means the blog is doing the same, I think.

      Hair: Isn’t it amazingly wonderful how our thoughts and feelings about things evolve? The hair nursery rhymes are the bomb. I’ve been singing the “if it’s healthy and you’re happy clap your hands one” since I read your comment! We should have made a video for it Saturday night while everyone was over. Our video, most certainly, would be better than that “It’s so Cold in the D” one we watched. Whew!

      (Let me know if you get a fascinator and which one you get.)

  2. I actually came here to find your blog about facinators so I can jazz up my hair then I saw your new posts. Yea!!!

    About hair:

    I used to be more militant about hair but now I totally agree with your sentiments.

    It’s just hair.

    One time you asked me if I’d be mad if you permed you hair and I said “yes”. But now, I’m like “Go for it!” Just send me the pics of your new style. 🙂

    If it’s healthy and you’re happy clap your hands. *clap clap*

    If you’re bald and you know it and you’re not afraid to show it. Press it. Perm it. Braid it. Grow it. It your head.

    It’s yo head. Do whatchuwanna do. I can’t tell ya who to sock it to.

    Alright. I think you’re endured enough of my randomness … let me get back to “work.” *continues to look for fascinators*

Leave a Reply

 
