I’m Natural and it Means Nothing

My natural hair about eight years ago was nothing but hair that hadn’t been chemically altered. It wasn’t cute, except for about a combined total of about six months out of the three years I wore it natural.

Sitting on the sofa at my mom’s house on Mother’s Day weekend with my brother and his family, watching television, the thought popped in my mind “I should shave my head.”

I toyed with the idea all of five minutes and then proclaimed to my brother, “I want you to shave all my hair off.”

After an “Are you sure?” look and the question “All your hair?” that followed, he did it for me.

I didn’t really know how to care for hair that wasn’t chemically treated. And out of character for me, I didn’t do any subsequent research to find out how. I just kept greasing my scalp. I take it back: It was probably more than a total of six months out of the three years that my hair looked decent, but dry greasy hair is not the business. My hair was as dry and rough as sex in the developing world, and didn’t lend itself to many “I like your hair”s from folks.

From time to time, my mother would ask me when I was going to do something with my hair. And honestly, I didn’t know what I could do to it.

So when degree-getting time time rolled around, she asked again. “How are you going to wear you hair for graduation? You going to do something special to it?” Again, I didn’t know a thing I could do, so I decided I’d surprise her and get a relaxer. It was fun.

Practically everything hairstyle that pop princess Rihanna has worn in the past year and a half, I wore in the three years my hair was relaxed. Everyone then looked at me like I was a weirdo, but now everyone wants to follow. Boy, I’ll tell you. The masses and their blind following. I’m digressing in my digression, but you’re accustomed. Why, yes. Yes I am bitter about that. Thank you for noticing.

… maybe I’ll grow locs, but I declare I just don’t have the patience for it. Plus, everyone’s doing it now–preppy gospel artists and Lil’ Wayne alike.

~ by MsInklination on November 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
