Mississippi Writers

Last week, I went to a local high school to talk to a Mississippi Writer’s class. I probably shouldn’t have been talking to them, however. Not because I’m not good at what I do. I’m even a writer who makes money writing (we writers can be like those actors who only go to auditions, never get a gig and end up serving food at the neighborhood bistro for years). But because I think I just might be a hypocrite. I’m a native Mississippian, and I don’t like Eudora Welty. At all. I never have. I think her work is overrated. And that, honestly, is blasphemy at its most grotesque. At least it is in the Magnolia. The Welty bug never bit me. Neither did the Tennessee WIlliams bug. Or the Willie Morris bug. Or the … you get the point. So I admitted this truth to the high schoolers (most of whom apparently thought I was about 22). And it turns out they don’t care much for her either. But when my guilt about my dislike for Eudora Welty suggested that I do a refresher about her anyway, I found something that made me rethink my position. The writer’s photography. Here are a couple of the exceptional shots I found.

“Sunday Morning” 1930s (Courtesy Eudora Welty LLC and Mississippi Department of Archives and History)

“Sunday Morning” 1930s (Courtesy Eudora Welty LLC and Mississippi Department of Archives and History)


“Home By Dark” Yalobusha County 1936 (Courtesy Eudora Welty LLC and Mississippi Department of Archives and History)

“Home By Dark” Yalobusha County 1936 (Courtesy Eudora Welty LLC and Mississippi Department of Archives and History)

… Yeah. I still think her writing is overrated.

~ by MsInklination on October 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
