Skipp to the Coon My Darling

A few years ago, I met a guy who claimed to be a rapper. Luckily for him, I didn’t hold that against him as I do with most of the people I meet who claim such a title. He handed me a mixtape one day. His mixtape, and this made me sad. I could only think of how bad it was probably going to be and how I needed to start right then trying to figure out how I was going to say “Your music sucks” to him with grace and love.

At least one month went by before I put that disc in my CD player to listen to it. I decided I’d give it a listen one Saturday morning while I was cleaning. That way, when it was horrible and the guy asked what I thought about it, I could say something along the lines of, “I listened to it but didn’t pay the closest attention because I was cleaning up. You know how that is!”

But as I scrubbed the toilet, I was shocked when I heard music streaming from the speakers that made me want to put down the Clorox ToiletWand and pay attention to what was happening in these songs.

So I was delighted when my now-friend Skipp Coon, the rapper, and Mr. Nick, the DJ, put out their first album, “Women Revolution Tennis Shoes.” The album is, using a Kanye West song title to describe it, “So Amazing.”

"Women Revolution Tennis Shoes"

I won’t review the album because something about that smells journalistically unethical, but I don’t have a problem bragging a bit about a friend’s talents and gifts. Everyone should buy this album that explores themes about racial identity, self-empowerment, self-awareness and what happens (or doesn’t “When I Grow Up.” Everyone. “Women Revolution Tennis Shoes” is available on Amazon, iTunes and at Tibbit, the artist’s own record label.

And no, I wouldn’t just say, “Listen to this album” and not give you a taste of it. You know me better than that. So here you are: one of my favorite cuts from the album, track 12, “Color Complex.” (You should hear the story behind this song, but I’ll let him tell you.)

zSHARE – 12 Color Complex.m4a

Shared via AddThis

~ by MsInklination on October 1, 2009.

One Response to “Skipp to the Coon My Darling”

  1. […] you realize something quickly. We’re still having this conversation. Bill Duke explores color complexes in “Dark […]

Leave a Reply

 
