Keep Her off the Pole

nialong

I’m overwhelmed with all the things that packing up your entire life and relocating to another state entails, so I haven’t had time to do much posting. Actually, I haven’t had much time to do anything besides pack (and cry because I’m sad or overwhelmed, depends on the minute of the day) or sit on the couch, staring at the wall mindlessly (that, too, depends on the minute of the day). During a minute of neither crying, packing nor staring at the wall, I decided to do a bit of web surfing. While surfing, I ran across a disturbing image: Nia Long’s PETA I’d-rather-go-naked-than-wear-fur ad.

The advertisement has in it many things that caused me discomfort. But there was one thing that really got to me. No, it wasn’t the fact that Long’s body is photoshopped to the point that it looks like a Barbie doll’s body superimposed on a background. It wasn’t even the fact that the happy photoshopper erased her belly button that got me either, though that was pretty freaking creepy. It wasn’t even that weird quote she gave about the ad where she explained how having a son is the thing that made her realize raising animals for fur coats is inhumane, before comparing killing animals to the genocide of Jews in the Holocaust.

“When I became a mother, I started to really understand the importance of all living creatures in a way that I didn’t ever think about before. … There’s no difference, in my opinion, [between fur and] slavery or the Holocaust. It’s just that we’re not dealing with human beings, we’re dealing with animals, but it’s still a living thing.” –Nia Long

The thing that made me roll my eyes with such disdain that I had to blink several times to make my right contact lens readjust itself over my iris is the fact that she was on public transportation with her legs wrapped around a poll, her back arched with exasperation with a waiting-for-tips posture after finishing her best stripper impersonation pelvic gyrations. Why does the Nutella-complexioned sister have to be the one to have her legs wrapped around a pole? Why not that Kardashian chick? Or Kimora Lee Simmons (drop the Simmons)? Pamela Anderson? Why? Why PETA? Why Nia?

Just wondering … Maybe I’m being uber-sensitive. I’ll take that. In the meantime, I think I’ll stare at the wall a bit longer before I head to bed to cry. I won’t have time to cry tomorrow, I have to help move about 50 boxes and furniture to the rented moving truck.

“They don’t grade fathers, but if your daughter’s a stripper … you ‘effed’ up!” –Chris Rock

~ by MsInklination on August 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
