Un-Words, Pt. IV

This one’s coming to you straight, no chaser. Humor will be minimal, at best, because this. is. a. serious. matter.

Today’s un-words are, in fact, words. They’re just words members of the general population severely violate with their erroneous usages of them. What’s worse is that most often, when people speak (and God forbid write … it’s always so much worse to see blatant violations printed) these horrors, they do it in the name of sounding intelligent.

Here we are, a grammar refresher/lesson (depending on who you are):

I is a subject; me is an object; myself is an object. (More specifically, a reflexive pronoun. Think of looking at your reflection in a mirror. I see myself in the mirror. But generally, speaking, the word shouldn’t be used by the masses because it’s too regularly abused).

Subjects do, and objects have things done to them.

Correct: I will never forgive her for wearing white shoes with black nylons.
Correct: She will never have to forgive me for wearing white shoes with black nylons, since I’d never do it.
Incorrect: Hand the white shoes and black nylons over to myself now.

Give the things to me … not myself!

That was kind of boring, I know. But it was imperative. We do what we have to do, so we can do what we want to do. And what do we want to do? Well, I want to listen to some music. Coming up in 3 … 2 … 1 …

~ by MsInklination on August 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
