“Passing Strange”

Maybe it’s because I’m reading “Kiss the Sky” by Farai Chideya or it might be due to this inexplicable loyalty I have to Spike Lee, but his latest film, “Passing Strange,” is something you and I should see. Anything (especially in a creative form) that talks about someone losing themselves to find themselves is meant for me.

Young, black musician Stew leaves the life Los Angeles, middle-class, Bible-believing family and life he’s known to find the one he wants … in Europe … during the 1970s. The film is based on the eponymous Broadway hit.

The film is available nationwide August 26 via cable providers in the onDemand sections and is a selection for the 2009 Sundance and Tribecca Film Festivals.

~ by MsInklination on August 4, 2009.

5 Responses to ““Passing Strange””

  1. Wait a minute. I think I found a musical I’d actually like to see! 🙂

  2. Umm… yeah, Spike is definitely passing strange with this film. lol Though I was able to get through the whole trailer my loathe for musicals still stands.

    • Come on, dude! It’s like a rock concert with a story line! One of my goals in life will now be to find a musical that doesn’t make you turn your nose up. Yep. That’s my goal.

Leave a Reply

 
