Un-Words, Part III

I have a confession: One of my guilty television pleasures is watching “The Real Housewives of ____” (pick a city, any city). This show and its characters contribute nothing to my growth. In fact, they irritate but oh how I laugh at their absurdity. I just can’t stop watching. (And I don’t want to.) So I shouldn’t have been shocked, but I was, when I heard Kandi Burruss, the newest Atlanta housewife, declare on a second-season preview that airs July 30 (waiting with baited breath) NeNe Leakes to be the “ghettoest one of us all.” Ghettoest?

I admit unashamed that my friends and I add the suffix “-ness” to any word we want to emphasize, but we’re just being silly. We know the rules. You’re supposed to know the rules before breaking them, right? Therefore, I am willing to bet the pair of L.A.M.B. Darrell pumps I’ve been eyeing since last year but just haven’t broken down and bought yet (go ahead and purchase them in a size 9.5 for me; I’m just that sure of myself) that it is impossible to make a noun superlative. Superlatives are reserved for adjectives.

Let’s try, shall we?

Acceptable: fair, fairer, fairest … as in “Who’s the fairest of them all?”
Unacceptable: iPod, iPoder, iPodest … as in “I’m still reeling from losing that delightful iPodest of mine several months ago.”

See, it doesn’t work. Look it up, if you’re unsure, though my word is bond.

~ by MsInklination on July 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Un-Words, Part III”

  1. Come on now Ms. Inklination. You know “ghetto” is no longer just a noun. These days using ghetto as an adjective is common in urban dialogue. Speaking of “ghetto” as an adjective, I just remembered a web site dedicated to it: http://www.hotghettomess.com

    • I forgot all about that website! Going on over now looking both to be entertained and embarrassed. And yeah, I guess you’re right. People do use “ghetto” as an adjective. But they shouldn’t. But since you called me out, maybe Un-Word, Part IV will be a lesson in grammar. Yeah, that’s it. A lesson in grammar!

Leave a Reply

 
