Friday Finds

I believe in an accessory that pops and adds ooomph to perhaps a classically simple outfit. One such perfect accessory is a fascinator. A fascinator, in case you don’t know what one is, is basically a small hat or gussied up headband or hair clip. While I’d seen them before, I didn’t know what they were called until I watched the Kentucky Derby on television one Saturday afternoon (for the fashions, of course, not the horses or those too-short-for-me-to-ever-seriously-consider-getting-with jockeys) and a commentator pointed one out among the plethora of wide-brimmed hats.

Feathers are going to be in this fall, and there’s no more perfect way to pull this trend off than a fascinator.

The New York Fascinator Company has plenty of head gear from which to chose for unbelievably reasonable prices. And for just a little more, you can purchase a radiant hand-made creation from Charm School Design
.

Peacock Feather Headband by Charm School Design, $38

Peacock Feather Headband by Charm School Design, $38

~ by MsInklination on July 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “Friday Finds”

  1. “Fascinator” I love that fabulous name and wearing one will probably make me feel more fabulous. You’ve definitely inspired me to step up my fashion game. I’ve really simplistic when it comes to fashion but with accessories like THIS I’ll gain 100 fashion points! Thanks Ms. Inklination!! 🙂

  2. the girls in europe are really wearing these hammer pants….i saw a girl today with peacock printed ones….hmmm

    • I don’t know what I think about harem pants. I’ve seen them on them on some people and it didn’t make me throw up a bit in my mouth. And, of course, I’ve seen them in major no-no situations.

      By the way, I’m putting your name in the “Best Cousin in the World” drawing!

Leave a Reply

 
