Un-Words, Pt. I

Girl Scouts honor (now typing with my Girl Scouts honor fingers proudly erect in the air to let you know just how serious I am … noticing that I need a manicure, both of which have really slowed down my typed words per minute since I’m only using my left hand to type while I “say” this):

Tooken is not a word. The conjugation is “take, took, taken” And while we’re at it, neither is irregardless. (See that. The spell check just choked when I typed it.) Irrespective is a word, irregardless is not. Again irrespective is, irregardless ain’t. Ain’t itself is debatable. It’s in the dictionary, but then again so is bootylicious. And finally for today, all-timers, though the condition seems to be common among the geriatric population, is not the same as Alzheimer’s. Man, my left hand is starting to cramp a skosh. (Look it up. It’s a word.)

~ by MsInklination on July 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Un-Words, Pt. I”

  1. You never know, girl. You never know. I’m sure you could take that issue to President Hogan and see if she’d work with you. I should try to think of something to blame my less than impressive college GPA on. All I keep coming up with is me and my personal issues!

  2. I wish you could have posted this when I was in college! One of my professors ALWAYS said “Irregardless” I think it kept me from hearing what she was saying because I would say the same thing in my head everytime she said it “Irregarding or regardless but NEVER Irregardless that’s a double negative” I have to go back and see what my grade was in that class. If it was poor, I wonder if I can cite her poor grammar as a means of getting a higher grade. It happened probably about 6 years ago so I doubt it would help my overall G.P.A. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
