“It is What it is”

One of my favorite images of J. Scott from the inside cover of Beautifully Human: Words and Sounds, Vol. 2

One of my favorite images of Jill Scott from the inside cover of her album Beautifully Human: Words and Sounds, Vol. 2

Although I don’t know her personally, I’m kind of sad. I just read that Jill Scott and her son’s father have broken up. I know people break up all the time. More often than not, they shouldn’t be with the people they’ve chosen to share themselves with anyway, but I had an inclination that there was an … issue with Ms. Scott, specifically, and I think I might be right. When she divorced her first husband (Lyzel, you know, in E flat), there was something about the way she talked about their relationship’s demise that alarmed me. Something about people not knowing how to deal with your success, among other things. That confused me. This was the dude who helped build your success (your talent, notwithstanding, of course), and now he’s basically jealous? I didn’t get it. Thereafter, she starts dating her drummer, John. He’s the greatest man on earth. He gets her. The relationship makes sense. It was meant to be. She gets pregnant. And before the baby is anywhere near eating solid food, they’ve broken up. She told Essence about the birth of son:

Essence.com: Well, at least your hubby-to-be was there to support. How has he been adjusting to Jett?

Scott: Yes, he was there and for a couple of days afterwards while I stayed in hospital, but John and I are no longer together. When you have a baby you’re dealing with a lot of emotions and I don’t know how much of it had to do with us breaking up, but it happens. We definitely love our son and we are co-parenting and working on being friends. It is what it is. I have a lot of support, so I want for nothing as far as that’s concerned. I know some might criticize me or the fact that my son is being raised in a single-parent home, but I wasn’t raised in a two-parent home and I had a good relationship with my dad. I have hopes for him and I’m sure his father will do his part as well.

I know she’s human. It’s one of the things I liked about her when I first discovered her; I connected with her, but there’s something … something there. Some … defensiveness? divatude? bitterness? avoidance? Something. Maybe I’m just reading too much into something that’s nothing. I’ll take that. But I can’t help but wonder if there’s “fame” and “celebrity” without compromise, without losing one’s self, where balance is possible?

~ by MsInklination on June 23, 2009.

One Response to ““It is What it is””

  1. I could see where divatude could be apart of it. Jill Scott is a beautiful person, but she like the rest of mankind has a tragic flaw. (Some of us have more than one.) This may be hers. The fact that she has an issue committing because she thinks they have an issue with her success. It’s just a thought.

Leave a Reply

 
