All of God’s Children Got Shoes (but not Necessarily Rights)

I had an argument with a friend about feminism the other day. He equates feminism with male bashing. It doesn’t have to be that way, necessarily, though I admit it is some people’s approach. I think of it a bit like fighting racism. No, you don’t have to enumerate the evils of The Man to talk about empowering the race but is it likely at some point The Man will be called a pig? Probably so. Is it necessary? Not at all.

Many men, particularly black ones, have problems with “feminism.”

This led me to do more thinking and a little research, which is the catalyst behind my wanting to do even more reading about Alice Walker’s womanism. It emerged after the white-middle-class-women led feminist movements that all but ignored oppression based on race and class. Walker’s “womanism” suggests that black women’s experience of oppression is different from white women’s. (Much like it is argued that black male homosexuals’ oppression is different than that of the white male homosexuals’.) Therefore, womanists are concerned with black women and black men, arguably because of the greater respect for community people of color tend to have. And now I have a couple books to add to my reading list: Walker’s “In Search of Our Mother’s Garden: Womanist Prose” and Angela Davis’ “Women, Class and Race.”

Anyway, I said all of that to say, that the most accurate and contemporary lyrical expression of feminism/womanism is one of Jill Scott’s most brilliant records, “The Fact Is (I Need You).”

~ by MsInklination on June 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “All of God’s Children Got Shoes (but not Necessarily Rights)”

  1. Let us learn!

  2. I like how you gave the definition of both because they are easily confused. I can see how it happens. More often than not people are afraid of what they don’t know or of what they feel is/could infringe on them and their rights. I think the books you are going to read are good selections I’ve done a little research on them and I think I shall join you in your reading them.

Leave a Reply

 
