The Challenge

So yesterday afternoon, a few of my co-workers and I got a chance to have a sit-down with A.J. Johnson. You know, the chick from “Baby Boy” and “House Party” who’s like closer to 50 than she is 40 but looks 26, at the oldest?

This wasn’t the first time I’ve ever talked to her. I interviewed her in 2007 when Alli, the first and only FDA-approved weight loss aid, was first hitting drugstore shelves. I liked her then. She was warm and a fun conversationalist, even on the phone. And it wasn’t just a front. She was a ball in person, too. She was also a bit of an inspiration.

My editor and I were supposed to be interviewing her, but as I said, a couple other co-workers sat in, and it was really more of a conversation. A conversation that centered around how to get fine for an event we’re all attending in three weeks.

She gave the tips without hesitation, and said they’d help us drop at least 10 pounds “easily.” Well, it’s not that implementing the dietary restrictions would be easy; they rolled off her tongue easily. Most things are easier said than done, but her body make it evident than it can be done. When you make your mind up to do it. I foolishly listened and thought, “Hey! I can do that.” (A.J. has that affect on you. I’m telling you.)

I’m going to try it. I don’t want to tell you the four simple things she told us until the article itself is printed, so by the time I’ve been at it for a few days and the article is published, I’ll blog about a few things besides what she told us to do: 1. How not easy it’s been, 2. If it’s been rewarding, 3. If I’m going to try to stick to it for the entire three weeks and 4. My nightly dreams (the ones about french fries and macaroni and cheese, at least).

I’m starting Monday. I’ll report back. But for now, I’m about to run out and grab some Ben&Jerry’s (a pint for today and a pint for tomorrow), something carbohydrate-y and cheesy and some succulent pineapple!

If you’re still having problems placing A.J.’s face, she’s pictured below.

A.J. Johnson, courtesy the AJZone

A.J. Johnson, courtesy the AJZone

~ by MsInklination on May 30, 2009.

One Response to “The Challenge”

  1. See my previous comment on your May 3 post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
